Review: First Shift (Nine Tails Series) by J.L. Weil

Blurb:

Something wicked is shifting in Seattle.

Karina Lang has enough on her mind dealing with college applications, her mother’s ailing health, and busting her butt after school at the café she works at. Forget about boys. Who has the time? The last thing she needs in her busy schedule is to be mugged by a band of thugs.

Her destiny is more important than she could ever imagine.

Out of the shadows, a mysterious stranger emerges—her rescuer. Coincidence? Not for him. Devyn St. Cyr reveals a startling truth about Karina, and she must befriend him to gain the answers she needs. However, uncovering the secret of her heritage threatens more than just her worldview, but also her life. Regardless of her feelings for the dreamy, steamy Devyn, Karina finds herself on unsure footing with him and a hot target for every ambitious otherworldly creature.

Falling in love won’t keep her alive.

As she struggles with her rare gift, Devyn supports her, protects her, and challenges her. But in order for Karina to survive, she must do what no other Kitsune in a century has accomplished: acquire nine tails.

Review:

***I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review***

I have read other books by J.L. Weil and have loved them so I figured I would give this book a try. Man am I happy I decided to give this series a try. I was questioning whether I would like the book based on the description. Usually when I read paranormal romance books, they have to do with witches, werewolves, vampires, fey, etc. When I say the fox part, I questioned how good this could be. In the end, I decided a fa was close enough to werewolves (not really but it convinced me to read the book).

Once I started reading the book, I couldn’t put it down and before I knew it, I was finished and left wanting more. This is a quick and easy read as it is only 150 pages, but it is quite the teaser for the rest of the series to come.

Karina – Still unsure about herself as she thought she had her whole life planned out … well for the next couple of years. Anyways, that has now been completely turned upside down.

Devyn – The sexy mysterious man. I am intrigued to see how this will turn out since they both seem to have chemistry and are drawn together.

J.L. Weil, I love this book and I am already hooked on the series! When will book 2 be out?!?

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

