Review: Playing to Win by Maci Monroe

Blurb:

Mr Perfect. Blake Wilkins

Quarterback at Iowa State. Projected 1st round draft pick by New England. Captain of the Cyclones. English major and all around good guy. He could have his pick of any of the smokin’ hot babes on campus.

Chem Geek. Katelyn French

Her idea of fun was blowing up chemical reactions to cure cancer. Beat Alzheimer’s. Kick Superman’s ass. Football was not her thing until she met Blake.

An unlikely couple

Pulled in different directions as college life comes to a close. Katelyn heading off to Stanford. Blake awaiting the NFL draft. Could they make a long distance romance work?

Sex. Love. Jealousy.

Can their love withstand the jealousy and threats that surround them?

The Gridiron Series.

This is Book One in a five part Gridiron Series. Sexual content. 18+

Review:

When I first started reading this book, I thought it was going to be another sports romance book I would enjoy, but it was pretty much the opposite. The book wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t my favorite. I was actually really disappointed in what I had read.

The romance wasn’t really there and the characters were just a couple all of the sudden. There was no build up, no connection between the two. They were actually very boring to read about. I need a book with much more description and feeling.

Overall, the book was just too short. 70 pages and that was it?!?! If the author would extend the book to make the story flow better and to make a spark and connection between the characters, I might have enjoyed this more. Unfortunately, I am not going to read the next book in the series.

I am not here to bash the author as I think it is a really difficult task of getting yourself into the characters minds and creating something many readers will enjoy. I have always wanted to write a book, but can never get my thoughts together to be creative enough with writing. I praise the author for her hard work on writing this book and wish her good-luck with future writing.

Rating: 2/5

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

